Cambria Press Book Series Highlight for MLA 2012: Cambria Contemporary Literature, Film, and Theory Series

The Cambria Contemporary Literature, Film, and Theory Series is critically innovative, diverse in subject matter, and challenging to existing critical frames. Proposals that engender progressive debate in the fields of literary and/or cultural theory are welcome, as are author-specific or filmmaker-specific studies that deal with their subjects in critically original ways. The series does not align itself to any one particular critical or cultural frame; rather it reflects an aspiration to move beyond the limits of singular categories in order to explore how many ways of reading can intersect in fruitful ways. The general editor is Professor Neil Murphy of Nanyang Technological University.


The following is a sample list of authors of interest:

Martin Amis Margaret Atwood John Banville
Sebastian Barry Italo Calvino Peter Carey
Caryl Churchill Don deLillo Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Romesh Gunesekera Sunetra Gupta David Hare
Aidan Higgins Geoffrey Hill Ted Hughes
Sarah Kane Milan Kundera Hanif Kureishi
Tony Kushner Doris Lessing Naguib Mahfouz
Derek Mahon David Malouf Ian McEwan
Medbh McGuckian Vladimir Nabokov Harold Pinter
Salman Rushdie Tom Stoppard Jeanette Winterson

Manuscripts on filmmakers, particularly those who have perpetually expanded the aesthetic horizons of their medium and who have contributed to an ever-expanding filmic vocabulary, are also welcome.

Books that have been published in this series include:

Inquiries should be directed to

Learn more about this series at the MLA annual convention (

Follow Cambria Press on Twitter @cambriapress (!/CambriaPress) and share this news from Cambria Press on Google+ (!

%d bloggers like this: